32 Wrestlers invited to Commonwealth Games Camping

32 Wrestlers invited to Commonwealth Games Camping

National Wrestling Champions will lead the way to Port Harcourt for the first phase of camping ahead of the 2018 Commonwealth Games. Technical Director, Nigeria Wrestling Federation Sir Damien Ohaike said the female wrestlers are camping in Yenagoa, while their male counterparts are camping in Port Harcourt.

According to the technical director, 32 wrestlers have been invited for the camping exercise. The Commonwealth Games will be held on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia between April 4th and 15th, 2018.

He said the first phase of the camping would hold from January 5th to February 12th, while the second phase would commence immediately after the end of the first phase.

He said “The athletes for the Commonwealth will be entering camp in Port Harcourt and Yenegoa from today; we are just trying to tie up the logistics. We have freestyle and female wrestling and we are looking at 32 athletes both male and female for the Commonwealth”.

Ohaike told aclsports.com “For the African Championship, we want to marry the two because the African Championship involves the Cadet, Junior and Senior.

“What we are trying to finalize is whether we can put the male team and female team separately between Port Harcourt and Bayelsa. We are going to present wrestlers in all the 90 weight categories in the Greco-Roman, freestyle and female wrestling.

List of wrestlers expected in Camp are:

Female; Mercy  Genesis,  Nweke  Rosemary, Samuel Bose,  Esther Ojolade,  Adekuoroye  Odunayo,  Patience  Kakata,  Nwoye  Ifeoma, Aminat  Adeniyi,  Makanjuola  Bisola,  Samisola Balogun,  Blessing  Oborududu,  Yanyangbini Eke,  Reuben  Hannah,  Blessing  Onyebuchi,  Gofit Winnie and Dressman  Kemeasuodei.

Male: Wilson  Ebikewenimo,  Kwen Onimiwisni, Simon Inilunmi, Daniel Amas, Firstman  Victor, Amos Assikowe, Timipa Bello,  John  Emmanuel, Bibo  Melvin,  Opiah  Lucky,  Agimor Ekerekeme, Agala Opukiri,  Soso Tamara, Robert Dauda, Sinivie  Boltic and Simon Christopher.

    Leave a Reply