FIFA Football 2017 Awards: Cristiano Ronaldo crowned The Best

FIFA Football 2017 Awards: Cristiano Ronaldo crowned The Best

Real Madrid star, Cristiano Ronaldo, has been declared the winner of TheBest FIFA Men’s player of the year award on Monday night in London.

Ronaldo beat Lionel Messi and world most expensive player, Neymar, to emerge winner of the award for the second time.

“[I am] very grateful to my teammates [for] helping me win collective and individual awards,” Ronaldo said moments after receiving the awards. “[It’s] fantastic to be surrounded by great players,” the Portugal international added.

Ronaldo wasn’t the only winner on the night, as there were other winners.

Juventus and Italy goalkeeper, Gianluigi Buffon was named the best goalkeeper, while Arsenal forward, Olivier Giroud, was awarded the Puskas award for his scorpion kick goal for the Gunners.

Meanwhile, the world XI, tagged FIFpro XI, was dominated by Brazil, with three players, while Spain and Italy got two representatives apiece, with a player each from Portugal, Germany, Croatia and Argentina making up the World IX

The best of the best

Other winners include Real Madrid manager, Zinedine Zidane and Sarina Wiegman, who won the coaches of the year awards for the men’s and women’s categories respectively, while Lieke Martens of Holland was named the women’s player of the year.

Other awards handed out include;
FIFA Fair Play Awards won by Francis Kone
FIFA Fan Award- Celtic

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.