NWFL: Nasarawa Amazons are Women League winners

NWFL: Nasarawa Amazons are Women League winners

Nasarawa Amazons Football Club of Lafia on Friday night won the 2017 Nigerian Women Football League after a narrow 1-0 win over Delta Queens in the Super Four final. Amarachi Okoronkwo’s 41st minute header provided a befitting finale for the week-long competition which saw the four best women league sides in the country battle one another in a round-robin challenge.

Amazons’ victory, right in front of the Nasarawa State deputy governor Silas Agara marked a remarkable three-year run for the side which have seen them finish 3rd and 2nd in 2015 and 2016 respectively. Nasarawa’s match winner Okoronkwo is among the four nominated players for the League Bloggers Award Women League’s Player of the year and has thus enhanced her chances of claiming the gong.

The team from North-Central Nigeria went home with the cash prize of N3,000,000 while second placed Delta Queens got N2,000,000 for their efforts. Also in attendance at the final was Edo State deputy governor Philip Shaibu who did the presentation of cash award for the eventual winners.

Amazons had led the group after amassing seven points from their three matches before beating Queens in a repeat of Thursday’s group game on Friday. Earlier in the day, FC Robo Queens defeated Edo Queens 2-1 in an exhibition game to herald the Super Four final match.

Photo credit: NWFL

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.