WAFU Cup: Dennerby invites Oluehi, 25 others

WAFU Cup: Dennerby invites Oluehi, 25 others

Head coach of the Super Falcons of Nigeria, Thomas Dennerby has released a list of 26 players led by Rivers Angels’ Tochukwu Oluehi ahead of next month’s WAFU Cup in Abidjan.

The 2018 AWCON winning goalkeeper tops the list of other Nigeria Women’s Premier League (NWPL) stars selected to execute the tournament billed for 8th – 18th of May, 2019.

Also, veteran midfielder Osarenoma Igbinovia and forward Chioma Wogu have been called up as well as former captain Evelyn Nwabuoku. Defender Maryam Ibrahim and midfielder Cynthia Aku, as well as former junior internationals Peace Efih, Ugochi Emenayo, Joy Jerry and Joy Bokiri who will all get another look-in as Dennerby prepares to compile his final list for the 8th FIFA Women’s World Cup finals in France.


Mary-Magdalene Anjor, Peace Efih, Ugochi Emenayo, Osarenoma Igbinovia, Alaba Jonathan, Glory Ogbonna, Christy Ohiaeriaku, Amarachi Okoronkwo, Tochukwu Oluehi, Chidinma Okeke, Alice Ogebe, Chiamaka Nnadozie, Uchenna Kanu, Joy Jerry, Chioma Wogu, Maryam Ibrahim, Cynthia Aku, Rita Okoro, Adebisi Saheed, Evelyn Nwabuoku, Rofiat Sule, Joy Bokiri, Mary Ologbosere, Esther Sunday, Antionette Payne, Rofiat Imuran.

All invited players are expected at the Serob Legacy Hotel, Wuye, Abuja on Sunday, 28th April as training sessions would commence on Monday, 29th April.

The Super Falcons of Nigeria are in Group B of the 8-nation WAFU Women’s Cup Tournament alongside Burkina Faso, Niger Republic and Mali. While host nation Cote d’Ivoire will tackle Senegal, Togo and Ghana in Group A.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.