Tokyo 2020: D’Tigress coach names 14 players for qualifiers

Tokyo 2020: D’Tigress coach names 14 players for qualifiers

D’Tigress head coach, Otis Hughley has invited 14 players for the last phase of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Qualification Tournament in Serbia.

Read more on how D’Tigress qualified for qualification tournament

D’Tigress qualified alongside Mozambique as the two African teams in the main qualification tournament from the pre-qualifying tournament which took place in Maputo, Mozambique in November.

They will now prepare for the main Olympic qualification tournament which has been scheduled for Belgrade, Serbia between 6th – 9th of February, 2020.

Top on the list of players invited by coach Hughley are: Virtus Eirene, Ifunanya Ibekwe, Promise Amukamara (Charnay Basket Bourgogne SUD, France), Sarah Imovbioh (Basket Namur Capitale, Belgium) and Spain based Elo Edeferioka who plays for CB Vigo.

Others players include Victoria Macaulay, Atonye Nyingifa, Upe Atosu currently studying and playing for Butler University in the United States of America, Pallas Kunaiyi Akpannah Ezinne Kalu, Evelyn Akhator, Aisha Balarabe and Adaora Elonu.

Finally Louisville Uni guard, Elizabeth Balogun who was not released by her school for the pre-Olympic qualifying tournament and Murjanantu Musa who is based in Nigeria also made the cut.

Musa joins the team after a stellar season in which she emerged the Zenith Bank Women League MVP after guiding Air Warriors to their first ever league title.

The reigning African Champions are grouped alongside hosts Serbia, World Champions USA (who are automatically through) and Mozambique with two Olympic tickets up for grabs.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.