National U18 & 21 Handball Championship champions

National U18 & 21 Handball Championship champions

Champions have emerged at the National U18 and U21 Handball Championship at the Sports Complex Rowe Park, Yaba in Lagos.

The one week competition which started on Sunday March 17, came to a close on Saturday March 23 with winners from four categories, Under 18 male and female and Under-21 male and female.

Lagos State finished as winners of Under-21 male category while Kwara and Rising Stars finished second and third respectively while Kwara were crowned champions ahead of Rising Stars of Abuja and Lagos in the female Under-21 category.

In the Under-18 female category, Mindscope Academy beat the odds to come first ahead of Lagos and Kogi in second and third respectively while Kogi waited for the last day to determine their fate as champions of Under-18 male category.

The Lokoja based team beat Lagos 42-34 in a keenly contested game to emerge champions while Future Pro of Ogun State finished third.

Individual awards were given to the most valuable players, highest goal scorers and best goal keepers of each category. They are as follows:

Most Valuable Player

Faidat Adewole female Under-18 (Mindscope)
Chukwuka Michael male Under-18 (Lagos)
Taye Ibrahim female Under-21 (Kwara)
Ogundokun Sodiq male Under-21 (Future Pro)

Best goal keeper
Kehinde Babatunde female Under-18 (Lagos)
Segun Adeleke male Under-18 (Lagos)
Adio Aishat female Under-21(Kwara)
Samson Akintunde male Under-21 (Lagos)

Highest goal scorer award
Under-18 female
Damilola Akinlade 19 goals (Mindscope)
Taiwo Babatunde19 goals (Lagos)

Male Under-18, Sanni Mutari with 31 goals (Kogi)

Female Under-21, Idowu Abdulrazak from Kwara with 31 goals

Male Under-21, Timothy Isa from Nasarawa State with a National Record of 71 goals scored.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.