FIBAWWC: NBBF invites 28 players to D’Tigress Atlanta camp

FIBAWWC: NBBF invites 28 players to D’Tigress Atlanta camp

Nigeria Basketball Federation has invited 28 players to the D’Tigress camp in Atlanta ahead of the 2018 FIBA Women’s World Cup in September.

WNBA players, Evelyn Akhator of Dallas Wings and Ify Ibekwe of New York Liberty leads other 9 players from the 2017 Afrobasket winning team.

They include: Team captain, Aisha Mohammed makes a return alongside co-captain, Ezinne Kalu, Sarah Ogoke, Cecilia Okoye, Nkechi Akashili, Upe Atosu, Atonye Nyingifa (Atenienses de Manati, Puerto Rico), Adaora Elonu (Perfumerias Avenida Salamanca , Spain) and Yakin Dugu of Argentina centre, Ugo Uwaigwe who were all part of the 2017 title winning team.

Nicole Enabosi with the University of Delaware basketball team who made the 2018 CAA All-First Team, All-Defensive Team and the Colonial Athletics Association Women’s basketball player of the year has also been invited to camp alongside Hungary based Sarah Imovbioh, Nkem Akaraiwe (First Bank of Lagos) Uju Ugoka and Belgium based Elem Ibiam.

Others on the 28 man list include US based Patience Nene Okpe, Promise Amukamara, Ayoleka Sodade, Elizabeth Balogun, Ijeoma Ajemba and the duo of James Juliet and Adaeze Alaeze who will be hoping to break into the team.

NCAA star with University of Syracuse, Jasmine Nwajei, Amy Okonkwo (Texas Christian University), Ashley Ezeh, Felicia Aiyeotan (University of Virginia) and Edeferioka Elo (Celta Zorka, Spain) complete the list of players called up by the D’Tigress Technical crew headed by Sam Vincent.

Nkechi Akashili

The invited players are to report to camp on Wednesday, July 18, in Atlanta, Georgia for the team’s preparation for the 2018 FIBA Women’s World Cup in Spain.

After the first phase of training in Atlanta, the team will return to Nigeria for the final phase of camping before jetting out to Turkey for some grade A friendlies before the first Jump ball at the FIBA 2018 Women World Cup in Tenerife , Spain from September 22- 30

According to the General Manager of the team Amachree Mactabene, uninvited players who believe they have what it takes to be in the team are also free to report to camp at their own expense to be assessed by the Coaching crew within the first week of training.


Ezinne Kalu – Vasa Akademia (PG)- Hungary; Upe Atosu (PG) – Labette College, (NJCAA); Promise Amukamara (PG) – Alexandria, Romania; Jasmine Nwajei – (PG ) – University of Syracuse, (NCAA); Patience Nene Okpe (PG) -Panola College, (NJCAA), Sarah Ogoke ( SG)- RC Celta, Spain; Nkechi Akashili (SG) – First Bank, Nigeria, Ayoleka Sodade (SG)- University of Buffalo, NY ,(NCAA); Elizabeth Balogun (SG) – Hamilton heights, Christian Academy, USA, Ijeoma Ajemba (SG/SF) -University of North Carolina Greenboro (NCAA); Adaeze Alaeze (SG) Ciudad de la Adelantos, Spain

Adaora Elonu (SF)-Perfumerias Avenida Salamanca , Spain; Atonye Nyingifa (SF)- Duran Maquinaria Ensino, Spain; Cecilia Okoye (SF) – Oviedo, Spain; Ify Ibekwe (SF)- New York Liberty, WNBA; Nicole Enabosi (SF) – University of Delaware (NCAA); Sarah Imovbioh (PF/C)- PEAC -Pecs, Hungary; Nkem Akaraiwe (SF)- First Bank, Nigeria; Uju Ugoka (PF) -Roche Vendee, France; Amy Okonkwo (PF) – Texas Christian University (NCAA); Evelyn Akhator (PF) – Dallas Wings, WNBA; Juliet James (PF) – Georgia State University, (NCAA)

Ashley Ezeh (PF/C) – ADBA, Spain; Aisha Mohammed ( C )- Istanbul University , Turkey, Felicia Aiyeotan (C) – University of Virginia (NCAA), Edeferioka Elo (C) – Celta Zorka – Spain; Ugo Uwaigwe (C) – Yakin Dugu U, Argentina; Elem Ibiam (C)- Kangoeroes, Belgium

1 Comment

    Leave a Reply