CAF Awards: Kgatlana dethrones Oshoala, Salah retains title

CAF Awards: Kgatlana dethrones Oshoala, Salah retains title

South African forward Thembi Kgatlana on Tuesday won the 2018 Women’s African Footballer of the Year Award held in Dakar, Senegal following her exploit at the just concluded Women’s Africa Cup of Nations (AWCON).

The Houston Dash forward who was in immense form at the tournament in Ghana, emerged the Player of the tournament, won the golden  boot award and with her performances led her team to a first ever Wolrd Cup qualifying spot and to a silver medal in Ghana.

She beat off stiff competition from three time winner Asisat Oshoala and Francisca Ordega both of the Super Falcons to become only the second female South African player to win the award.

In the same vein, Kgatlana’s coach, Desiree Ellis won the 2018 Women’s Coach of the Year award for her outstanding leadership and tutelage of the team becoming the first female South African team to make it to the Women’s World Cup.

In the men’s category, Egypt’s Mohammed Salah retained his title as to make it two in a row following stiff competition from Liverpool team mate and Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon.

Full list of winners on the night include:

Men’s Player of the Year – Mohamed Salah (Egypt)
Women’s Player of the Year – Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)
Women’s Coach of the Year – Desiree Ellis (South Africa)
Men’s Coach of the Year – Herve Renard (Morocco)
Women’s National Team of the Year – Nigeria
Men’s National Team of the Year – Mauritania
Young Player of the Year – Achraf Hakimi  (Morocco)
Goal of the Year –Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa)

1 Comment

  • Avatar

    Reply Jah Eye January 10, 2019 at 11:53 am

    Cool Website and Update on the Aiteo CAF Awards ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.