AFCON2021: Nigeria name Osimhen, Nwakali in final squad

AFCON2021: Nigeria name Osimhen, Nwakali in final squad

Former FIFA Under-17 World Cup winners Victor Osimhen and Kelechi Nwakali were both named in Nigeria’s final squad for January’s Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON2021) on Sunday.

Fans of the Super Eagles have kept vigil in the past few days, waiting to find out who will don Nigeria’s green and white jersey in neighbouring Cameroon when Africa’s flagship football event commences on January 9, 2022.

In the final squad made up of twenty-eight players released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF); Italy based Victor Osimhen who has been out for a couple of weeks due to a facial injury and Spain based Nwakali were included by interim head coach Augustine Eguavoen.

Eguavoen, himself an AFCON winner as a player in 1994 and head coach when Nigeria finished 3rd in 2006 selected four goalkeepers, nine defenders, five midfielders and ten attackers as he aims for Nigeria’s fourth diadem in Cameroon.

There are also places for recently recalled Odion Ighalo as well as attackers Sadiq Umar and Emanuel Bonaventure Dennis while South Africa based centre back Olisa Ndah was also called up.

Europe born stars Tyrone Ebuehi, Kelvin Akpoguma and Calvin Bassey were all left out by the Nigerian selectors. Nigeria will face Egypt in their opening group game in Garoua on January 11.

Eguavoen will be assisted by Salisu Yusuf, Joseph Yobo, Paul Aigbogun, Terry Eguaoje and Alloy Agu.

All invited players with the exception of UK-based players, are expected to arrive in camp in the Nigeria’s capital, Abuja on December 29 while the UK-based players are expected to start arriving on Monday, January 3.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); John Noble (Enyimba FC); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Olisa Ndah (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Kelechi Nwakali (SD Huesca, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Shabab Riyadh, Saudi Arabia); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.