Shooting Workshop: ACLSports reporter wins 10m pistol event

Shooting Workshop: ACLSports reporter wins 10m pistol event combat reporter, Dare Kuti on Thursday won gold in the 10m air pistol men event at the just concluded maiden Media Shooting Workshop and Competition held in Abuja.

Kuti beat other 13 contestants after hitting the bull’s eye at his third attempt, the tournament organized by the Nigeria Shooting Federation.

Obinna Victor Ugwu a sports reporter with TStv won silver while Johnson Akamadi a Cameraman with the TStv sports department won bronze medal.

In the 10m rifle event, Itua Favour a reporter with Comfort FM Uyo won Gold medal after a stalemate with Aaron Akerejola of DBN who later settled for silver, while Umahi Jeremiah who works for PTv won bronze medal.

Favor said the thought of winning a gold medal came to his mind adding that all he did was to listen to the instructions of the coach.

He noted that this was his first time of lifting an ammunition.

He commended NSF led by Brigadier General Lonsdale Adeoye rtd for the workshop adding that when called upon, he switch from reporting to shooting.

“I never thought I could win gold. This is my first time, I remained focus and listened to the coach. I’m ready to drop the pen for the gun”, he said.

“I feel so excited and I want to say a big thank you to the NSF led by Brigadier General Lonsdale Adeoye rtd, the coaches for the media training and with this I can cover the sports with ease” Favour said.

In the female category, Anietie Patrick won gold in the air pistol event. Binta Nuan and Ijeoma Okigbo won gold and silver respectively in the 10m rifle.

Ijeoma said, “I feel very happy to have hit the stationed target yesterday.  I didn’t know I got it right even though it didn’t seem so while I was handling the rifle”.

“It’s my first medal  and will only encourage me to be serious  with whatever I am doing no matter how less important  it may seem”.

“Also kudos to the NSF for engaging  us and showing us another sphere  of Sport”, she ended.

Team Grande Sports, led by the head of Sports TStv, Abutu Achema, Amadi Ugochukwu, Gboyega Olaniyi with 30 points emerged champion of the paintball event.

Achema said, “We feel great, participating in this event and toping it as well.  My team members have been very wonderful. We appreciate the Nigeria Shooting Federation for this wonderful opportunity”.

A total of 48 journalists consisting of 16 Television, 15 Radio, 17 online and newspapers attended the two days 1st media shooting workshop and Competition sponsored by the Nigeria Shooting Federation.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.