World Cup Qualifiers: NBBF releases final 12-man roster

World Cup Qualifiers: NBBF releases final 12-man roster

Nigeria Basketball Federation have released final roster for the first-leg in Group B of the FIBA Basketball World Cup 2019 African Qualifiers in Bamako, Mali.

Three home based players who initially made the 18-man provisional squad;  Eli Abraham, Abdulwahab Yakubu and Musa Usman failed to make the cut but Abraham joined the team to Mali as back up.

Agua Caliente Clippers, USA player Ikechukwu Ireogbu who was a revelation at the 2017 tournament where the D’Tigers won a silver medal, Ike Nwamu (Sioux Falls Skyforce, USA) and Michael Gbinijie (Santa Cruz Warriors, USA) are unavailable for the first round of qualifiers in Mali.

D’Tigers captain and most valuable player at the 2017 FIBA Afrobasket, Ike Diogu, led 11 others to Mali for this weekend’s games.

Final roster: Bryant Mbamalu (CD Vildivia, CHILE), Ike Diogu (Schun Blue Whales, CHINA) and Ayodeji Akindele (Belediye Spor, TURKEY), Ben Uzoh (unattached), Ofoegbu Chima (unattached), Ojo Michael Adetokunbo (Worcester Wolves, UK), Mike Efevbeha (Sagesse, LEBANON), Obi Emenago (Rouen Basket, FRANCE), Omogbo Emmanuel (VL Pesaro, ITALY), Nwogbo Lotana Afam (Sendai 89ers, JAPAN), Talib Zanna (Ironi Nes-Ziona, ISRAEL) and Christopher Obekpa Ewaoche (Tranzaspor, TURKEY).

The first-leg of Group B of the World Cup African Qualifiers will run from February 23-25 in Mali, and Nigeria will face Uganda on Friday, Rwanda on Saturday before playing host Mali on Sunday.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.