Gov Wike Challenge Cup: Bayelsa state dominate senior freestyle wrestling

Bayelsa State senior male wrestlers won six out of the ten weight categories at the just concluded Governor Wike Wrestling Championship in Port Harcourt.

Five time African champion, Daniel Amas of Bayelsa State defeated Bauchi’s Robinson Ikechuku in the 65kg category by technical superiority. Commonwealth Champion, Wilson Ebikewimimo (57kg), National Champion, Firstman Victor(61kg), All Africa Games Gold medalist, Melvin Bibo (86kg), Robert Daufa (92kg) Commonwealth Champion, Sinivie Boltic (125kg) retained their titles.

Daniel Amas

The shock result of the freestyle event was in the 79kg weight category as Agala Opukiri the favorite, lost to Agiomor Okerekeme from Delta State in a physical contest. While in the 70kg weight category, African Champion, John Emmanuel eased pass Nwafor Emeka of Anambra State by technical superiority.

Rivers State Amos Assazi who has been voted the best freestyle wrestler of the tournament, beat Tinupa Bello of Delta State in the 74kg weight category.

Mercy Genesis was awarded the best female wrestler and Emmanuel Nworie got the best greeco-roman wrestler.

Full results of the male senior freestyle category:
1st Wilson Ebikewimimo (Bayelsa state)
2nd Kwen Onimiwisni (Nigeria Army)
3rd Semeon Inilunmi (Dynamite club)

1st Firstman Victor (Bayelsa state)
2nd Prince Idabor (Enugu state)
3rd Osai Ambrose (Delta State)

1st Amas Daniel (Bayelsa state)
2nd Ikechukwu Robinson (Bauchi state)
3rd Egypt Appah (Rivers State)

1st John Emmanuel (Ondo state)
2nd Nwafor Emeka (Anambra State)

1st Amos Assazi court (Rivers State)
2nd Tinupa Bello (Delta State)
3rd Oluwafemi Jackson (Ondo State)

1st Agiomor Okerekeme (Delta State)
2nd Agala Opukiri (Bayelsa state)
3rd Ben Obale (Rivers State)

1st Melvin Bibo (Bayelsa state)
2nd Opiah Lucky (Delta)
3rd Adibo Dick (Dynamite club)

Melvin Bibo

1st Robert Daufa (Bayelsa state)
2nd Asanakya Andaowa (Delta State)
3rd Samuel Nathaniel (Tukuru club)

1st Soso Tamara (Delta State)
2nd Wilson Oruwori (Bayelsa)
3rd Emmanuel Obaze (Rivers State)

1st Sinivie Boltic (Bayelsa state)
2nd Simeon Christopher (Plateau)
3rd Ilukwe Patric (Delta State)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.