Atleti/Nigeria: Overused Ikouwem heads Nigeria’s 23-man list

Atleti/Nigeria: Overused Ikouwem heads Nigeria’s 23-man list

Enyimba FC left back and Flying Eagles captain Ikouwem Udoh heads a list of twenty three players called up by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday ahead of next Tuesday’s GoTV Max challenge between Europa League winners Atletico Madrid and Nigeria’s Super Eagles B side.

Udoh, 18, excelled at his inaugural international competition for the home-based Super Eagles in Morocco when he featured for the side which lost in 2018 CHAN final against Morocco in Casablanca.

Udoh led the national Under-20 team to a 2-2 draw in Bissau last Saturday before heading to central Africa to play for his club Enyimba against CARA Brazzaville in a CAF Confederation Cup game on Wednesday.

He has now been called up for Tuesday’s game which will hold just forty-eight hours after the second leg game of the Under-20 AFCON qualifiers against Guinea Bissau in Calabar on Sunday evening.

Sunshine stars midfielder Dayo Ojo, another player who shone in Morocco is also invited in a list that has sixteen locally based players. Plateau United’s Tosin Omoyele and Lobi Stars’ Samad Kadiri were among those invited.

Seven foreign based players were also called up for the game billed for the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo. Former league stars Alhassan Ibrahim and Emem Eduok have a chance to play on a pitch they once excelled on.



Olufemi Kayode (Lobi Stars) Olorunleke Ojo (Akwa United) Olufemi Thomas (Rangers International)


Musa Muhammed (Lokomotiv Plovdiv) Stanley Okorom (MFM FC) Ebube Duru (Lobi Stars) Ikouwem Utin (Enyimba FC) Adeleye Olamilekan (FC IfeanyiUbah) Austin Opara (MFM FC) Isiaka Oladuntoye (Enyimba FC) Chinedu Ajana (Katsina United)


Raphael Ayagwa (Plateau United) Destiny Ashadi (Katsina United) Kelechi Nwakali (MVV Maastricht, Netherlands) Alhassan Ibrahim (FK Austrian Wien) Chidiebere Nwakali (Aberdeen FC, Scotland) Usman Mohammed (Norway) Dayo Ojo (Sunshine Stars)


Emem Eduok (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey) Sadiq Umar (NAC Breda, Netherlands) Tosin Omoyele (Plateau United) Kadiri Samad (Lobi Stars) Ibrahim Alhassan (Kano Pillars)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.