D’Tigers release final 12-man list for 2017 Afrobasket campaign

D’Tigers release final 12-man list for 2017 Afrobasket campaign

Head coach of the senior national team, D’Tigers, Alex Nwora has released the final list for the Afrobasket 2017.

D’Tigers will depart on Wednesday for the 2017 Afrobasket tournament to be co-hosted by Tunisia and Senegal.

The delegation will include 14 players, 3 members of the technical crew led by Alex Nwora, and 6 backroom staff.

In line with the NBBF’s long term plan, two players who have been identified as future prospects will be added to the 12-man roster to continue their developmental programme with the national team.

Rivers Hoopers Victor Anthony and Musa Usman of Mark Mentors will join the team as contingent players.

The list include:  captain Diogu Ike (Jiangsu Monkey King), Deji Akindele (Metros de Santiago), Bryant Mbamalu (CB Agustinos Eras of Spain),  Ike Nwamu ( University of Nevada), Aki Akingbala ( Saenz Horeca Araberri of Spain) , Odunsi Anthony Abayomi (Houston Baptist University), Ikenna Iroegbu (Washington State Cougars) and Daniel Ochefu (Washington Wizards).

Others are Kano Pillars duo Abdul Yahaya and Dike Azuoma, Kelechi Anuna (Eko Kings) and O’Karo Akamune (home based).

The team of back room staff include Alex Nwora (head coach), two assistant coaches, Abdurrahman Mohammed and Adewunmi Aderemi, Musa Adamu (Team manager), Ogunkunle Dayo (physiotherapy) and Ogbindeninu Samuel(Team Doctor).

Special adviser to the NBBF President, Victor Okoro, Adamu Janlong (Technical support) and Sulaiman Saleh Media Officer) will be in the delegation.

The team will depart for Tunisia, from the Murtala Mohammed international airport Lagos, on Wednesday at 6:20am via  Royal air Maroc.

D’Tigers will start their title defence against Cote’d Ivoire on Friday September 8 in Tunisia.

    Leave a Reply