D’Tigers coach drops two more home based players

D’Tigers coach drops two more home based players

The final list for the Afrobasket 2017 has been released by the head coach of the D’Tigers, Alex Nwora.

Two players from the 6 home based D’Tigers left in camp have been sent back to their respective clubs after their training session on Monday. The players are Timothy Mudiaga (Hoops & Read) and Chukwudaalu Egbejiogwu (Raptors Basketball Club).

Only four home based players made the final 14-man list to the 2017 Afrobasket this month. The players include Musa Usman, Abdul Yahaya, Azuoma Dike and Victor Anthony.

In line with the NBBF’s long term plan, two players who have been identified as future prospects will be added to the 12-man roster to continue their developmental programme with the national team.

Squad list: Musa usman, Abdul Yahaya, Dike Azuoma, Victor Anthony, Diogu Ike, Deji Akindele, O’karo Akamune, Bryant Mbamalu, Ike Nwamu, Aki Akingbala, Ike Iroegbu, Anthony Odunsi, Kelechi Anuna and Daniel ochefu..

The names of two players who will sit out in Tunisia will be released before the D’Tigers depart the country for the Afrobasket.

The 2017 FIBA Afrobasket Championship tips off on Friday 8 – 16 September in Tunisia and  Senegal.

1 Comment

  • Reply Gboyega September 5, 2017 at 12:36 am

    Without the 2015 title winning coach, Will Voigt, then players Ezeli, Al-Faruq Aminu, as well as almost all the players in our 2015 title-winning squad missing; it’s hard to predict the kind of tourney we will have.

    We can only hope that the new coach and the NBBF have given us a crack squad, capable of retaining the trophy. It’s hard to be optimistic, given the circumstances though.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.