AITEO Cup: Akwa United in cloud seven; Heartland, 3SC eliminated

AITEO Cup: Akwa United in cloud seven; Heartland, 3SC eliminated

Defending Champions Akwa United opened the defence of their AITEO Cup crown in emphatic fashion, dimming the hopes of little known Hope of Glory FC with a 7-0 bashing. It came on a Round of 64 day which saw former Cup Champions Heartland, Shooting Stars and Insurance crash out to lower league sides.

Youngster Aniekeme Asuquo was the star of the day with an impressive hattrick in the match decided at the Sharks Football Stadium in Port Harcourt. Former Barcelona B star, Ezekiel Bassey and Victor Mbaoma registered their names twice on the score sheet to give Abdu Maikaba’s team a comprehensive victory.

Earlier at the same venue, Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) side and winners in 2012, Heartland were bundled out by NNL side Cofine FC. Scores stood 1-1 at full time after Alex Kouakou cancelled out Mboutidem Charles strike. The Uyo based side won the ensuing spot kicks 4-2.

Another NNL side Shooting Stars – winners in 1995 – also bowed out 5-4 on penalties to Supreme Court in Benin while Insurance were humbled by Remo Stars Feeders team by a lone goal.

2014 champions Enyimba also began with a 3-0 triumph over non-league side Wasiu Alabelewe from Osun State with new Super Eagles invitee Sunday Adetunji scoring twice. Kano Pillars however left it late before seeing off Ngwa FC of Ebonyi.

Another NPFL side Sunshine Stars came from a goal down against FC Ifeanyiubah Feeders team to win 3-1 with star striker Sikiru Alimi scoring twice before former Rivers United forward Godbless Asamoah wrapped up the scoring.

The next round of matches (Round of 32) will hold next Sunday in different venues across the country.

Other results

Smart City 1-2 Abia Warriors

Yobe Desert FC 2-1 DMD FC

Zabgai FC 0-2 Plateau United

Gombe United (3) 1-1 (5) Dynamite FC

Kano Pillars Feeders (4) 2-2 (5) Crown FC

Nyasagwana FC 1-5 FC Ifeanyi Ubah

Ngwa FC 2-3 Kano Pillars

Cofine FC (4) 1-1 (2) Heartland FC

Katsina Feeders FC 3-1 Jigawa Golden Stars

Aklosendi Int’l FC (6) 0-0 (5) FRSC FC

Igho FC (Delta) FC 0-4 Kogi United FC

Bayelsa United FC 4-1 Fasbir FC

Bendel Insurance FC 0-1 Remo Stars Junior

FC Minda 1-2 Osun United FC

Shooting Stars (4) 0-0 (5) Supreme Court

ABS Ilorin FC (2) 1-1 (3) Kebbi United FC

Katsina United – Madagali United (Walk Over)

Chief of Staff – Niger Tornadoes (Walk Over)

Dan Masari FC – Go Round FC (Walk Over)

Samba FC 0-3 El Kanemi

Kwara United FC 2-1 All Stars FC (Half-time Scoreline) – Second-half to be played on Monday.

Monday’s fixtures

Rivers United vs Gusau Eleven

Lobi Stars vs Standard FC

Sokoto United vs MFM FC

Ekiti United FC vs Mighty Jets

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.