Gov Wike Cup: Adekuoroye, two other African champions emerge victorious

Gov Wike Cup: Adekuoroye, two other African champions emerge victorious

The trio of African Champions, Aminat Adeniyi (62kg), Odunayo Adekuoroye (57kg) and Blessing Oborududu (68kg) defeated their opponents in the opening 30 seconds of their respective weight categories at the ongoing Governor Wike Challenge Cup in Port Harcourt on Wednesday.

Aminat Adeniyi

Commonwealth gold medalist, Adeniyi beat Esther Ayodele of the Nigeria Police, Faith Temene of Bayelsa state and Essien Akoh of Cross River by technical superiority. World Silver medalist, Adekuoroye in the early stage of her category defeated Faiziuya Babadubedu of the Nigeria Army, Rita Monday from Cross River before sending Bayelsa’s Patient Kakada in less than 20 seconds to the cleaners in the final.

In the 68kg, seven-time African champion, Oborududu tutored Samba Fatisu of Nigeria Army, Igwe Micheve of Enugu state and defeated Lagos Yanyangbini Keketobou in 10 seconds by technical superiority.

Hannah Reuben

Blessing Onyebuchi returned to winning ways by dethroning African Champion, Gofit Winnie in a breath taking 76kg final. Gofit could not stand the fire power of Onyebuchi as the Edo born wrestler frustrated Winnie.

Former National champion, Ifeoma Nwoye also returned to winning ways in the 55kg beating Amarachi Okafor of the Nigeria Army, Ebelakpo Sunday of Bayelsa and Delta State, Abojei in the round-robin contest.

African champion, Kemesuode Dressman (72kg) of Bayelsa state, Bose Samuel (53kg) and Bisola Makanjuola (59kg) all from Ondo State retained their national honours at the championship.

After missing the 2017 African championship, Hannah Reuben wasted no time to dispatch Ebi Biogos of Bayelsa state in an electrifying final.

Full results of the female senior event:

1st Mercy Genesis (Bayelsa state)
2nd Nweke Rosemary (Anambra State)
3rd Mary Effiong Okon (Cross River)

1st Bose Samuel (Ondo)
2nd Esther Ojolade (Nigeria Army)
3rd Beauty Oziti (Bayelsa)

1st Nwoye Ifeoma (Anambra State)
2nd Blessing Isioma (Delta Club)
3rd Abojei Isioma (Delta State)

1st Odunayo Adekuoroye (Ondo state)
2nd Patient Kakada (Bayelsa state)
3rd Esther Kolawole (MFM FC)

1st Bisola Makanjuola (Ondo State)
2nd Sunmisola Balogun (Purity Club)
3rd Precious Tiebri (Nigeria Army)

1st Aminat Adeniyi (Ondo State)
2nd Esther Ayodele ( Police)
3rd Faith Temene (Bayelsa)

1st Hannah Reuben (Nigeria Army)
2nd Ebi Biogos (Bayelsa state)
3rd Bukky Adeyanju (Lagos)

1st Blessing Oborududu (Bayelsa state)
2nd Yanyangbini Keketobou (Lagos state)
3rd Samson Fatisu (Nigeria Army)

1st Kemesuode Dressman (Bayelsa)
2nd Ezeigbo Blessing (Delta State)
3rd Shonde Rhoda (Nigeria Army)

1st Blessing Onyebuchi (Edo state)
2nd Winnie Gofit (Nigeria Army)
3rd Chuks Christiana (Delta)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.