Super Falcons: Courtney Dike invited for France as Oshoala out

Super Falcons: Courtney Dike invited for France as Oshoala out
Nigeria’s women national team coach Thomas Dennerby has called up seventeen players ahead of next week’s international friendly between the Super Falcons and France in Le Mans.
The list, as released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) on Thursday evening is dominated by players that played at the 2016 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon as well as youngsters from the Under-20 side, the Falconets who also featured for the senior team at the recently held WAFU Women’s Cup of Nations.
Conspicuously missing in the list however were the names of reigning African Footballer of the Year Asisat Oshoala and her China-based pal Onome Ebi. No reasons were given for their omission but it may not be unconnected to the Chinese League being on break.
Courtney Dike
The team will be led by captain Rita Chikwelu, France based striker Desire Oparanizie and experienced defender Faith Ikidi. There were also Ngozi Ebere, her namesake Ngozi Okobi, Francisca Ordega and Osinachi Ohale.
As we reported earlier in the month (, USA-born Courtney Dike and Brighton’s Ini-Abasi Umotong were handed rare call ups while former Under-20 striker Ogonna Chukwudi also made the cut.

U.S –based stars Dike and Ordega would be first arrivals in Le Mans on Tuesday, 3rd April – the same day the delegation from Nigeria will depart from the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja.

The game will hold at the Stade MMArena in the city of Le Mans, France on Friday, April 6, 2018


 Goalkeepers: Onyinyechukwu Okeke (Edo Queens); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels)

 Defenders: Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF Sweden), Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FA Women, Cyprus); Faith Ikidi (Pitea IF, Sweden); Ugo Njoku (CC Savwe Ambilley, France); Osinachi Ohale (VITTSJO GIK); Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels)

 Midfielders: Rita Chikwelu (Kristianstand DFF Sweden); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna United DFF, Sweden); Ini-Abasi Umotong (Brighton and Hove Albion, England); Ogonna Chukwudi (Kristianstand DFF, Sweden)

 Forwards: Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (Envant Guingamp, France); Courtney Dike (Oklahoma City FC, USA); Esther Sunday (Guangdong Meizhou Huijun Women, China); Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons)

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.